Indian Highway

kr 50

kr 8 discount to members.

27 in stock


SKU: 9788291430607 Categories: , ,

Catalogue published in conjunction with the exhibition Indian Highway (04.02. – 09.06.2009).

Indian Highway was the second chapter in our focus on the arts of three major cultural regions, China, India and the Middle East, reflecting a shift from Western to emerging global economies, conceived and organised by the Serpentine Gallery and the Astrup Fearnley Museum.
Following the remarkable and rapid economic, social and cultural developments in India, Indian Highway was a timely presentation of the pioneering work being made in India, embracing art, architecture, film, literature and dance. The culmination of extensive research over a lengthy period, Indian Highway was a snapshot of a vibrant generation of artists working across a range of media, from painting, photography and sculpture to installation and Internet-based art and video.
Indian Highway pioneered a radical model of curating, in which curators were invited to develop a ‘show within a show’ inside the exhibition. At each subsequent international venue, over the next four years, a different Indian artist or group would invite their contemporaries to exhibit, bringing views of Indian art from the inside and allowing the exhibition to grow and develop in new and unexpected ways.

Curators: Gunnar B. Kvaran (Director, Astrup Fearnley Museum), Julia Peyton-Jones (Director, Serpentine Gallery and Co-Director Exhibitions and Programmes) and Hans Ulrich Obrist (Co-Director Exhibitions and Programmes and Director, International Projects), in association with Hanne Beate Ueland and Grete Årbu (Curators, Astrup Fearnley Museum).

Included artists: Ayisha Abraham, Ravi Agarwal, Nikhil Chopra, Dawood/Deora, Debkamal Ganguly, Sheela Gowda, Sakshi Gupta, Shilpa Gupta, Subodh Gupta, N.S. Harsha, Abhishek Hazra, M.F. Husain, Anant Joshi, Ruchir Joshi, Jitish Kallat, Amar Kanwar, Bharti Kher, Riyas Komu, Bose Krishnamachari, Nalini Malani, Kavita Pai/Hansa Thapliyal, Pors & Rao, Prajakta Potnis, M.R. Rajan, Sumedh Rajendran, Raqs Media Collective, Priya Sen, Tejal Shah, Surabhi Sharma (with Siddharth Gautam Singh), Sudarshan Shetty, Dayanita Singh, Kiran Subbaiah, Ashok Sukumaran & Shaina Anand, Hema Upadhyay, Avinash Veeraraghavan, Vipin Vijay and Vivek Vilasini.

Pages:  63
ISBN: 978-82-91-43060-7